What Looms

Standard

We all have things that loom in front of us:  bills that need to be paid, projects that need completing, deadlines to meet. Like everyone else, my to-do lists seem to get longer instead of shorter.

Tonight I sit at my desk and see several things on my desk that prevent my horizon from looking smooth and placid.

A pile of bills  really should be paid before we leave on our road trip so that we don’t return to angry voicemails from creditors.  I make a mental note to run out to the money tree tomorrow morning and pull off a few hundred leaves.

The road trip looms and with it a long list of things that need to be taken care of before we put our Jetta in gear.  I start to get little pains in my chest just thinking about what needs to be done starting with double-checking with the neigbhours to see if they are actually going to look after Mad Alyss – or did I just dream that?

Traveling presents its very own brand of looming chores and worries.  Everything from making sure we have adequate cell phone coverage in the States (we don’t so we’ll have to pay extra) to making sure we’ve copied passports, hotel confirmation sheets, and pre-written letters to the Canadian Embassy – just in case.

Dear Sir:  We are absolutely, positively sincerely sorry about the maple syrup incident at the border…

What looms especially large for me is the prospect of being away from my snug little corner where I can retreat/write uninterrupted.  The lack of a definitive ending on The Novel looms alongside the worry that while I’m away, my creative juices will shut down due to car fatigue, distraction, and general vacation malaise.

Item to add to “To Do List”:  notebook/journal for stray thoughts, ideas that may come in handy later.

I ask myself:  should I worry about what looms or should I just plough ahead towards the horizon and take everything as it comes?

 

 

Leave a Reply

