Fun with Mythical Creatures

Standard

Think of modern-day mythical creatures and a few might top the list:

  • Loch Ness Monster
  • Bigfoot
  • Yeti
  • Ogo-Pogo (Lake Okanagan’s version of Nessie)
  • Beast of Burnham Thorpe

These are just the ones I’ve heard of.  When I Googled “Modern-Day Mythical Creatures” there is a website (of course) and a list of over 120 such beasts.  Some are known; some are just plainly ridiculous.  Others  have logical explanations.

I have always been intrigued by stories of mysterious big cats.  Watery lizards, even though first accounts date back to the 6th Century, just aren’t my thing.  Nothing personal, Nessie.

Cats, even our domesticated pets, are elusive by nature.  Certain breeds like the snow leopard in the Himalayas, are notoriously difficult to catch sight of. Thus the idea of a mythical, mysterious cat is not difficult for one’s imagination to grasp.

Yes…

I dunno…

Easier, perhaps, than the idea of a giant ape-man like Bigfoot.  At least for me.

About 20 years ago, I had a very strange dream about a mythical cat that lived in a far northern land.  The dream had a blurry, other-worldly air to it.  When I woke up, I knew the dream had to be written though it has taken me two decades to make it happen.

I am a superstitious Banshee; I do what the writing gods tell me to.  This tale has stuck with me for a reason and nothing happens by accident

I’m of two minds about these modern-day mythical creatures like the Yeti and Nessie.  My childlike self wants to believe in faeries – my very Celtic childhood was full of stories about water horses, banshees, and assorted other little folk.  I still walk around faerie mounds and I taught my children to as well.  However, I just read that a man in Scotland has spent 60 hours a week for the last 26 years gazing into the dark waters of Loch Ness…waiting.  Hmmm…I don’t think I could do that.

Every culture has their myths, faerie tales, and folklore – we should embrace and protect such stories.  They don’t have to be taken as truths but as threads that connect us to our past.  After reading up on sightings of “mysterious” cats in northern England and Scotland, my creature now has a home – maybe in the remote wild country around Glencoe – a locale steeped in myth all on its own.  Just traveling through that valley I get goosebumps, no big cat required.

I will conjure a raw, icy wind and bring down a curtain of snow…there…did you see it?  Was it?  A shadow, a deeper shade of white, off in the distance…

Insert mysterious creature here…

Leave a Reply

