When the Waiting is Over

Standard

With February’s exit came the realization that the short story I submitted to a big national contest did not win, did not place, did not register on anyone’s Richter scale.  Winners (or those who got Honourable Mentions) were to be notified “before February 28.”

Sigh.

I am cheered by one thing:  if this had happened to me last year, I would’ve been beating myself up over it.  I would’ve labeled myself a “loser.”  I would’ve doubted my talent, my capabilities, my entire freakin’ life path. Instead, here in 2012, I am sitting tall in my chair and I am telling myself something quite different.

You see, the story I submitted is very good.  I know that.  Maybe it didn’t rock the socks of this particular set of judges but I know that the story has legs and merit and heft.  And, now instead of beating myself up about the fact that it didn’t win any of the much-needed prize money, I am celebrating the fact that now I am free to submit it elsewhere.

This story is just on a journey that isn’t over yet.  The story is quirky, a little left of center.  It’s not totally bizarre nor is it hard to read or fathom.  It was a departure for me to write but once I got started, it took off.  It wrote itself.  That is the way with the stuff that is worth keeping around, at least in my limited experience.

And, so I will work tirelessly and diligently to find my story a proper home.  Will it garner me fame and fortune?  Probably not.  I’ll be happy if an editor for a literary mag or e-zine reads it and says, “Crikey.  Interesting stuff…” and offers to publish it for a pittance.  Of course, something more than a pittance would be ok too.

The more I write, the more I have a sense for what is good.  No, let me re-phrase…for what has potential.  Potential is all I need because somewhere along the road, I picked up some much needed confidence.  With potential and confidence on my side, I’m off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

