One of Those Days (Weeks?)

Standard

Because I blogged about the record-setting, page blistering work I laid down last week, the Writing Gods have seen fit to blow this week all to hell.  I know that sounds pessimistic for a Wednesday but it’s Leap Day so it doesn’t count, right?

Sick kids, doctors appointments, emergency Deadmau5 errand running (don’t ask) – all of it has put me behind the 8 ball with my writing and I am crazily, massively, toxicly (is that even a word?) off-track.  And I must shrug my shoulders – not only as a way to relieve the incredible tension that has built up there but also as a way of saying, “It’s ok.  Don’t worry.  You’ll get back to it.  Don’t STRESS.”

Ha!

It’s hard not to stress when the aforementioned previous week was so invigorating and mood-boosting and this week is so…not.  I could chalk part of it up to the approach of Spring – the weather is acting all schizophrenic too – warm and sunny one day, brutally cold and snowy the next.  How can I remain consistent when Mother Nature has clearly forgotten to take her meds?

Because it’s February 29, I’m giving myself a pass of sorts.  I’m reading other people’s blogs (hello, Friend in France – so good to see you returned from Africa in one piece, not mauled by lions!) and my international array of newspapers.  I’m going to get a haircut.  I might make some soup.  Oh, exciting stuff, this. 

One thing I’ve learned over the years is that going with the flow is not a flaky mantra meant to excuse all manner of slothful behaviour (although there are those I know who will never be convinced otherwise).  It is an absolute necessity for me.  Words will come; time will come to me.  The Universe will provide – I just need to take a deep breath and relax.  Forcing things – never a good idea.

Leave a Reply

